Join us


Europa Editions acquires rights to Katharina Hacker's The Have-Nots

Winner of Germany’s most important award for contemporary fiction, the 2006 German Book Prize, Die Habenichtse (The Have-Nots) is Katharina Hacker’s extraordinary third novel after Morpheus (Morpheus oder der Schnabelschuh) in 1998 and The Lifeguard (Der Bedmeister) published in 2000. The prize was announced at the opening of the Frankfurt Book Fair in October. A seven-member committee chose the winner from a short-list of six.

The Have-Nots tells the story of a successful young couple who meet at a Berlin party on September 11, 2001, and move to London together, where their lives gradually fall apart. Hacker may be the first foreign novelist to deal with the events of 9/11 in such a compelling way. The German Book Prize award committee praised Hacker for showing how world events can affect the lives of individuals, and how an inability to make or sympathize with decisions can clash with a need for 'existential' experience.

Hacker was born in Frankfurt am Main in 1967. She studied philosophy, history and Jewish studies in Freiburg and Jerusalem, and later worked in Israel for several years. Her translations from the Hebrew are published by Suhrkamp.

For more information about Katharina Hacker and the German Book Prize, click

Martin Walser (Angstbluete)
Ingo Schulze (Neue Leben)
Ilja Trojanow (Der Weltensammler)
Thomas Hettche (Woraus wir gemacht sind)
Sasa Stanisic (Wie der Soldat das Grammofon repariert)

Join Our Newsletter and receive a FREE eBook!

Stay updated on Europa’s forthcoming releases, author tours and major news.

Are you a bookseller? Click here!

Are you a librarian? Click here!